The Surgery department at SQUH consists of seven major divisions: General Surgery, ENT, Cardio-thoracic Surgery, Urology, Orthopaedics, Neuro-surgery and Paediatric Surgery. In addition to this Trauma surgery, Breast Surgery and Vascular surgery are also being developed. We are primarily concerned with teaching, clinical service, research and continuing medical education. In line with the mission of Sultan Qaboos University and the College of Medicine, we strive for excellence in all these areas.

We are heavily involved all year round in the clinical teaching and assessments of Phase II, Phase III (Pre-Clerkship, Junior Clerkship, Senior Clerkship and Pre-Intership) medical students in the new curriculum. We are also involved in the structured training of interns and surgical residents from the Oman Medical Speciality Board. We provide an environment and opportunity for the students to gain sound medical education and surgical training.

Dr. Hani Al Qadhi